History of the West Vancouver Police Department


The District of West Vancouver was incorporated on March 15, 1912. The first election was held on April 6, 1912.


On May 7, 1912 Council appointed John Teare as the first police constable. On May 28, 1912 Council appointed F.H. Kettle as the second constable.  The first police office was in an upstairs room in the original Municipal Hall built in 1912. By the early 1950s this accommodation had become quite inadequate and the Police and Fire Departments were established in the present Public Safety Building, which was opened on July 9, 1954.


A resolution read, "That F.H. Kettle be appointed police constable of a district to be arranged and that he be asked to come next Friday morning to be sworn in."


On July 9, 1912 Council appointed a third constable. The resolution read, "That Richard D. Jones be appointed constable for that section Northwest of White Cliff City without salary." On July 23, 1912, John Teare was appointed Chief of Police. The resolution read, "That John Teare be hereby appointed Chief of Police with jurisdiction over all other constables within the Municipality, withoutsalary." On September 10, 1912 the Municipal Engineer (James Duncan) was appointed a constable without salary.


On October 1, 1912 the Council dispensed with the services of Constable R.D. Jones, and directed that he be tendered the sum of $5.00 for his past services. Mr. W.B.C. Moodie was appointed to replace him. At the same meeting Council appointed Chief of Police John Teare as Health Officer, Pound Keeper and License Inspector, and offered him a salary of $75.00 per month.